Cyber Basics Training Series

A three week training series for small businesses

by the Global Cyber Alliance and the Cyber Readiness Institute

Small businesses are the lifeblood of our communities providing all manner of essential services. Cybercrime - such as identify theft, malware, phishing scams, ransomware attacks, and email spoofing can cripple small businesses which in turn impacts livelihoods and the global economy. 

Cyber Basics for Small Businesses is a three week instructor-led training series which takes attendees through the GCA Cybersecurity Toolkit for Small Business in non-technical, bite-sized segments, explaining the risks and common methods of attack and offering practical suggestions to avoid falling victim. 

In between each weekly session, small businesses can implement tools from within the toolkit to improve their resilience to cyber attack and reinforce the training material. Support is provided via the online GCA Community Forum.

  • April 14th - Understanding cyber risk and how it affects your business. Securing accounts with good password practices.
  • April 21st - Protecting your business from phishing and malware with anti-virus and DNS security.
  • April 28th - The importance of backing up your data and email security.

Sessions will be held each Wednesday at 8:00 New York/13:00 London/14:00 Brussels and repeated again at 13:00 New York/18:00 London/19:00 Brussels. Please choose which session you would like to attend when registering. You will then receive a confirmation email.