Cyber Security for SMEs

What is cyber security?

Cyber security is the means by which individuals and organisations reduce the risk of becoming victims of cyber attack.

The core function is to protect the devices we all use (smartphones, laptops, tablets and computers), and the services we access – both online and at work – from theft or damage.

It’s also about preventing unauthorised access to the vast amounts of personal information we store on these devices, and online.

What can I do?

Investing in cyber security has never been more important. According to a recent report published by the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS), 46% of all UK businesses have suffered at least one cyber attack or breach within the last 12 months. With the sudden change in working practices as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic, businesses face an unprecedented challenge from cyber criminals who seek to exploit poor security.

At the Police Digital Security Centre, we recommend businesses regularly review their vulnerability to the most common types of cyber crime. That’s why, PDSC and the British Standards Institution (BSI) have collaborated to develop a new certification scheme aimed to help SMEs reduce their vulnerability to cyber crime and promote the fact that they take their digital and cyber security seriously. This scheme replaces the previously run LDSC Membership programme. 

Currently, only 70% of organisations who have undertaken the Digitally Aware certification scheme have successfully passed it, demonstrating that a third of these organisations are not equipped with adequate cyber security measures, leaving them vulnerable to cyber crime and fraud.

Our message is clear. Good cyber security is good for business.

Digitally Aware & Digitally Resilient Certification Scheme

To help businesses start their cyber security journey, we have developed a simple online Cyber Security Self-Certification assessment tool which will help test the resilience of your business to the most common types of cyber crime as well as provide you with key resources.

Click here to a view a demo of our assessment tool.

Initial Assessment

The Initial Assessment will ask you a series of simple questions about your organisation, which will help us determine your level of risk.

After completing the Initial Assessment you will then be required to complete either:

  • The Digitally Aware Assessment: an entry level certificate aimed at organisations with lower risk
  • The Digitally Resilient Assessment: aimed at organisations who are above the minimum level of risk*

*Minimum cyber risk is defined as that which meets the criteria for the Digitally Aware scheme

Digitally Aware 

To achieve the Digitally Aware Certificate complete an online questionnaire; developed in collaboration with BSI and based on the National Cyber Security Centre’s (NCSC) ‘Small Business Guide’. 

You will receive a tailored report with recommendations you can take in accordance with the latest Government and police guidance based on your results.

To cover administrative costs there is a nominal fee of £50 + VAT. Certificate is valid for 12 months.

Click Here For Digitally Aware FAQs

Digitally Resilient 

To achieve the Digitally Resilient Certificate applicants must be able to demonstrate that they have implemented controls that are appropriate to the level of risk they are exposed to.

BSI assess against the Government’s Cyber Essentials Scheme;       “10 steps to cybersecurity” principles.                                                                                                                                                  

The cost will vary depending on a number of factors. Certificate is valid for 12 months.

Click Here For Digitally Resilient FAQs